قسم الكيمياء الصيدلية ينقسم إلى شعبتين: الكيمياء الطبية والكيمياء التحليلية.

الكيمياء الطبية

الكيمياء الدوائية هي مجال متداخل يجمع بين الكيمياء العضوية الاصطناعية والصيدلة وعلم الأحياء الدقيقة والكيمياء الحيوية والكيمياء الفيزيائية والحاسوبية. وهي تهتم بعملية اكتشاف العقاقير وتطويرها بدءاً من تحديد الهدف وإيجاد المركب الرئيسي واستكشاف العلاقة بين البنية والنشاط لتحسين المركب الرئيسي باستخدام تقنيات مختلفة مثل الفحص في السيليكو والتحقق من الإنتاجية العالية. أيضا فإنه ينطوي على دراسة الخصائص الدوائية/الصيدلانية المتعلقة للعوامل النشطة الصيدلانية المختلفة واستراتيجياتها التركيبية والعلاقة بين النشاط والبنية الخاصة بهذه الأدوية.

الكيمياء التحليلية الصيدلية

تتكون الكيمياء التحليلية الصيدلانية من فرع الكيمياء الذي يتعامل مع تعريف وتحديد تركيز الدواء في أشكال دوائية مختلفة وكذلك في السوائل البيولوجية مثل البلازما والمصل والبول ، ويتعامل أيضاً مع تحليل العقاقير والعناصر في العينات البيئية. وتعد الكيمياء التحليلية الصيدلانية العمود الفقري للصناعة الدوائية لأنه يساعد وحدات مراقبة الجودة في تحليل المواد الخام والمنتجات الوسيطة وأشكال الدواء النهائي للتأكد من أن المنتج آمن وفعال.

تشمل الطرق الكيميائية المستخدمة في التحليل: التحليل بالمعايرة (تفاعلات القاعدة الحمضية ، تفاعلات الهواطل أو تفاعلات التعقيد) و التحليل الكهروكيميائي (تفاعلات الأكسدة والاختزال ، قياس الجهد ، وقياس الأداء) وأخيراً التحليل الآلي باستخدام الطيف والتحليل الكروماتوجرافي.

أعضاء هيئة التدريس​

د. عفاف علي - استاذ مساعد الكيمياء العضوية

د. عبير عبد العظيم - أستاذ مساعد الكيمياء العضوية

The Chemistry Department is divided into two sections; Medicinal Chemistry and Analytical Chemistry.

Medicinal Chemistry

Medicinal Chemistry is an interrelated discipline combining synthetic organic chemistry, pharmacology, microbiology, biochemistry, physical and computational chemistry. It is concerned with the drug discovery and development process, starting from target identification, finding a lead compound, structure-activity relationship investigations to lead optimization, using different technologies such as In-silico screening and high throughput screening. Also, it involves the study of the pharmacokinetic/ pharmacodynamic properties of different pharmaceutical active agents, their synthetic strategies, and the structure activity relationships of these drugs.  

Pharmaceutical Analytical Chemistry

Pharmaceutical analytical chemistry comprises a branch of chemistry that deals with identification and determination of drug concentration in different pharmaceutical dosage forms as well as in biological fluids such as plasma, serum and urine, and, deals with drug and elemental analysis in environmental samples. It is considered the backbone of pharmaceutical industry as it helps quality control units in analysis of raw materials, intermediate products and final drug dosage forms to assure that the drug product is safe and effective.

The chemical methods of analysis used include titrimetric analysis (acid – base reactions, precipitation reactions or complexation reactions), electrochemical analysis (redox reactions, potentiometry, and conductometry), and finally, instrumental analysis as spectroscopy and chromatography.

Staff Members​

Dr. Afaf Ali, Associate Professor of Organic Chemistry